Este site utiliza cookies. Ao navegar no site estará a consentir a sua utilização de acordo com a nossa Política de cookies.


Winds from Brazil and Portugal

Auditório da Reitoria da UNL – Campus de Campolide
Sun 22 Oct 17:00


Tickets for sale

The winds that blow in this program by the Metropolitan Soloists pass through the flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon and horn. This is how the Wind Quintet is formed, one of the chamber instrumental formations that attracted the interest of many composers in the last century, such as Arnold Schoenberg, György Ligeti, Luciano Berio… even Frank Zappa. But also Heitor Villa-Lobos, Frederico de Freitas and Ricardo Tacuchian, the names that here represent three successive generations and invite us to pendulum between Portuguese and Brazilian inspirations. We begin in 1928, when Heitor Villa-Lobos added this quintet to his famous cycle of fourteen Chôros, always seeking to articulate the resources of the classical musical tradition with the essence of indigenous and popular Brazilian music. We then move on to 1952, when Frederico de Freitas’ Wind Quintet was premiered and broadcast live on the radio from the Sociedade Nacional de Belas Artes, with a performance by the Quinteto Nacional de Sopros, made up of musicians from the Emissora Nacional. Finally, we return to Brazil, with a work from the beginning of Ricardo Tacuchian’s career, the Suíte Brasileira, composed in 1964.

Winds from Brazil and Portugal
Metropolitana soloists

Heitor Villa-Lobos Quintet in the Form of Choros
Frederico de Freitas Wind Quintet
Ricardo Tacuchian Brazilian Suite

Janete Santos flute, Carla Pereira oboe, Jorge Camacho clarinet, Rafaela Oliveira bassoon, Jérôme Arnouf horn