Este site utiliza cookies. Ao navegar no site estará a consentir a sua utilização de acordo com a nossa Política de cookies.


Italian Symphony

Grande Auditório do Centro Cultural de Belém
Sun 29 Oct 17:00

12,50€ a 25€

Tickets for sale

For the first time, conductor Enrico Onofri and the Lisbon Metropolitan Orchestra will perform together the most famous symphony inspired by Italy. But the journey begins before that, with a symphony dedicated in 1788 to the King of Prussia and sealed in Spain, where Boccherini lived the last four decades of his life. The Italian composer also left us a dozen cello concertos. The Concerto in B-flat major was probably composed around 1770 and owes its popularity to the melodic resourcefulness of the first movement, which makes it unavoidable in the repertoire of the great virtuosos of our time. This is the case of the young Austrian cellist Julia Hagen. This is followed, finally, by Mendelssohn’s memories of his visits to cities such as Venice, Rome, Naples, Genoa and Milan in 1830. In this concert we have the opportunity to hear a slightly different version of the Italian Symphony from the one we are familiar with, according to the revisions drafted by the composer himself in 1834.

Italian Symphony
Lisbon Metropolitan Orchestra

L. Boccherini Symphony No. 26, G. 519
L. Boccherini Cello Concerto No. 9, G. 482
F. Mendelssohn Symphony No. 4, Italian (rev. 1834)

Julia Hagen cello
Enrico Onofri conductor