Este site utiliza cookies. Ao navegar no site estará a consentir a sua utilização de acordo com a nossa Política de cookies.


French music

Auditório da Reitoria da UNL – Campus de Campolide
Fri 08 Mar 21:00


Tickets for sale

French music

The Orquestra Académica Metropolitana performs music by French composers and brings together sonorities separated by three centuries. The eras and authors are distinguished. From Jean-Philippe Rameau, an inescapable figure in the history of 18th century music, the enigmatic opening of the opera Zaïs and the most beautiful pages of the ballet opera Les Indes Galantes and the operas Dardanus and Platée. Then comes a short orchestral suite composed by Albert Roussel in 1929; three movements that traverse a dawn with scents of Spanish exoticism, the bucolic register of a pastoral and the jocular atmosphere of Parisian masked balls. Finally, “another” Petite Suite, this one by Claude Debussy; four short pieces originally written for piano four hands in 1889, but transcribed for orchestra twenty years later. In between is a love serenade that Richard Wagner dedicated to Cosima Liszt on her birthday.

Orquestra Académica Metropolitana

J.-P. Rameau Overture from the opera Zaïs
J.-P. Rameau Danse des Sauvages, from the opera Les Indes Galantes
J.-P. Rameau Tambourins I & II, from the opera Dardanus
J.-P. Rameau Orage, from the opera Platée
A. Roussel Petite Suite
R. Wagner The Idyll of Siegfried (original version)
C. Debussy Petite Suite

Musical Direction: Jean-Marc Burfin and/or Orchestra Conducting Students – ANSO