Este site utiliza cookies. Ao navegar no site estará a consentir a sua utilização de acordo com a nossa Política de cookies.


Winds from Brazil and Portugal

Espaço Santa Casa - Lisboa
Fri 20 Oct 16:00
Entrada Livre

The winds that blow through this program by the Metropolitan Soloists include flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon and horn. This is how the Wind Quintet is formed, one of the chamber instrumental formations that attracted the interest of many composers in the last century, such as Arnold Schoenberg, György Ligeti, Luciano Berio… even Frank Zappa. But also Heitor Villa-Lobos, Frederico de Freitas and Ricardo Tacuchian, the names that here represent three successive generations and invite us to pendulum between Portuguese and Brazilian inspirations. We begin in 1928, when Heitor Villa-Lobos added this quintet to his famous cycle of fourteen Chôros, always seeking to articulate the resources of the classical musical tradition with the essence of indigenous and popular Brazilian music. We then move on to 1952, when Frederico de Freitas’ Wind Quintet was premiered and broadcast live on the radio from the Sociedade Nacional de Belas Artes, with a performance by the Quinteto Nacional de Sopros, made up of musicians from the Emissora Nacional. Finally, we return to Brazil, with a work from the beginning of Ricardo Tacuchian’s career, the Suíte Brasileira, composed in 1964.

Winds from Brazil and Portugal
Metropolitana soloists

Heitor Villa-Lobos Quintet in the Form of Choros
Frederico de Freitas Wind Quintet
Ricardo Tacuchian Brazilian Suite

Beatriz Ribeiro flute, Carla Pereira oboe, Jorge Camacho clarinet, Rafaela Oliveira bassoon, Jérôme Arnouf horn