Este site utiliza cookies. Ao navegar no site estará a consentir a sua utilização de acordo com a nossa Política de cookies.

Beethoven & Brahms

Boldness and Exaltation

Aula Magna da Reitoria da Universidade de Lisboa
Sat 29 Oct 19:00

The first of Brahms’ two piano concertos started out as a simple sonata for two pianos. It became, however, his first orchestral work, and immediately with a grandiose writing, capable of holding our breath from the first to the last minute. His audacity earned him the public recognition that accompanied him until the end of his life. A similar effect can be seen in Beethoven’s Symphony No. 7, a work whose contrasting moods were used at its premiere, in 1813, to praise the bravery of the Austrian troops who had faced Napoleon Bonaparte’s troops weeks before. In between, the OML premieres another composition by Francisco Lima da Silva, Cidades Submersas.

Boldness and Exaltation
Lisbon Metropolitan Orchestra

[Music at the University]

L. v. Beethoven Symphony No. 7
Francisco Lima da Silva Cidades Submersas (absolute premiere)
J. Brahms Piano Concerto No. 1

António Rosado piano
Pedro Neves conductor

Tickets on sale soon